Annual Meeting Awards

Each year at the AAOMS Annual Meeting, the OMS Foundation is pleased to present special awards at the Opening Ceremony. Awards presented may include the Torch Award, Research Recognition Award, Ambassador Service Award, and the Daniel M.Laskin Award.

Torch Award
Research Recognition Award
Ambassador Service Award
Daniel M. Laskin Award

Torch Award

The Torch Award is the highest award bestowed by the Foundation.  The purpose of this most prestigious award is to recognize an individual who has provided exemplary service and made major contributions in fostering the purposes of the foundation.  The award is granted by the Foundation Board only when deemed appropriate.

Torch Award recipients:


Dr. Fred A. Henny (1984)
Dr. S. Elmer Bear (1985)
Dr. Charles McCallum (1987)
Dr. Philip T. Fleuchaus (1989)
Mr. Walter Lorenz (1991)
Dr. Philip L. Maloney (1992)
Mr. John Daly (1993)
Dr. Robert V. Walker (1994)
Dr. Robert R. Keen (1997)
Mrs. Madelyn B. Donoff (1998)
Dr. James F. Kelly (1999)
Dr. Bernard C. Pecaro (2000)
Mr. Ethan Jackson (2004)
Dr. Raymond P. White (2006)
Dr. Stephen B. Milam, posthumously, (2007)
Dr. Gerald E. Hanson (2008)
Dr. Thomas J. Skiba (2009)
Dr. Robert D. Marciani (2010)
Dr. Gerald Laboda (2011)
Mr. Steve Mourning, posthumously (2012)
OMS Foundation Alliance (2013)
Dr. James A. Davis, Jr. (2014)

Research Recognition Award

The Research Recognition Award emphasizes the commitment of the Foundation to foster programs of research and scientific investigations related to oral and maxillofacial surgery. It recognizes individuals who have made outstanding research contributions to the specialty. The award is given only when deemed appropriate.

Research Recognition Award recipients:

Dr. Philip J. Boyne (1975)
Dr. David E. Poswillo (1976)
Dr. William H. Bell (1977)
Dr. Daniel M. Laskin (1978)
Dr. Edward J. Driscoll (1979)
Dr. John M. Gregg (1982)
Dr. James A. MacNamara, Jr. (1983)
Dr. John N. Kent (1984)
Dr. James F. Kelly (1985)
Dr. Irwin A. Small (1985)
Dr. R. Bruce Donoff (1988)
Dr. Robert E. Marx (1989)
Dr. Raymond J. Fonseca (1990)
Dr. H. David Hall (1991)
Dr. Leonard B. Kaban (1992)
Dr. M. Franklin Dolwick (1993)
Dr. Edward Ellis, III (1997)
Dr. William R. Profitt (1998)
Dr. Per-Ingvar Branemark (1999)
Dr. Stephen B. Milam (2001)
Dr. John R. Zuniga (2002)
Dr. Raymond P. White, Jr. (2003)
Dr. Stephen E. Feinberg (2004)
Dr. Rolf Ewers (2005)
Dr. Joseph Van Sickels (2006)
Dr. Charles N. Bertolami (2007)
Dr. Ceib Phillips (2008)
Dr. Michael Block (2009)
Dr. Louis Mercuri (2009)
Dr. R. Gilbert Triplett (2010)
Dr. Vivek Shetty (2011)
Dr. M. Anthony Pogrel (2012)
Dr. James Q. Swift (2013)
Dr. Alan S. Herford (2014)

Ambassador Service Award

The Ambassador Service Award is given to a leader amongst OMSF Ambassadors who has shown outstanding service to the Foundation. It is presented only when deemed appropriate.

Ambassador Service Award recipients:

Dr. Ryland Traynham (2001)
Dr. James A. Davis (2004)
Dr. James Q. Swift (2004)
Dr. Richard Ziegler (2006)
Dr. Thomas B. Dodson (2007)
Dr. Thomas J. Skiba (2008)
Dr. John N. Santin (2009)
Dr. Anthony M. Spina (2010)
Dr. Joseph Piecuch (2011)
Dr. Eugene D'Amico (2012)
Dr. Richard A. Crinzi (2013)

Synthes Award

From 2005 – 2009, Synthes Maxillofacial offered $15,000 to a CODA Accredited OMS teaching center which demonstrated excellence in the care of trauma patients and in the reconstruction of patients with significant facial defects. Synthes additionally donated $5,000 to the Foundation with each award.

Synthes Award recipients:

  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center/Parkland Hospital (2005)
  • University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Hospital, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (2006)
  • University of Louisville, Department of Surgical/Hospital Dentistry (2007)
  • University of Alabama At Birmingham, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (2008)
  • Loma Linda University School of Dentistry (2009)

Daniel M. Laskin Award

The Daniel M. Laskin Award was established in recognition of Dr. Laskin’s many years as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.  The award is presented annually to the authors of the most outstanding article published in the Journal from the previous year.  The award is selected by the editorial board of the Journal.

Daniel M. Laskin Award recipients:


Edward Ellis, III, DDS, MS


Suzanne Brumer, PhD
April Holman, PhD
David Pasta, MS
William Ware, DDS, MDS


Daniel Buser, DMD, PD, Dr Med Dent
Karl Dula, DMD, Dr Med Dent
Hans Peter Hirt, DMD, Dr Med Dent
Robert K. Schenk, MD, Prof Dr Med


John R. Zuniga, DMD, PhD
Ning Chen, MD
Ceib L. Phillips, MPH, PhD


Troy Alton, DDS
Kenneth M. Hargreaves, DDS, PhD
Mark T. Roszkowski, DDS
James Q. Swift, DDS


Per-Ingvar Branemark, MD, PhD, Odhc, MDhc, ScDhc
Gosta Granstrom, DDS, MD, PhD
Anders Tjellstrom, MD, PhD


Edward Ellis III, DDS, MS
Gaylord Throckmorton, PhD


Michael K. Rollert, DDS
Omar Abubaker, DMD, PhD


George H. Blakey, III, DDS
Robert D. Marciani, DMD
Richard H. Haug, DDS
Ceib Phillips, MPH, PhD
Steven Offenbacher
Tarunjeet Pabla
Raymond P. White, Jr., DDS, PhD
Phoebus N. Madianos


David H. Perrott, DDS, MD, MBA
Judy P. Yuen, MA
Randi V. Andresen, BS
Thomas B. Dodson, DMD, MPH


Salvatore L. Ruggiero, DMD, MD
Dr. Bloomi Mehrotra
Tracey J. Rosenberg, DDS, MD
Stephen L. Engroff, DDS, MD


Phillip J. Boyne, DMD, MS, DsC;
Leslie C. Lilly, BSN, RN
Robert E. Marx, DDS
Peter K. Moy, DMD
Myron Nevins, DDS
Daniel B. Spagnoli, DDS, PhD
R. Gilbert Triplett, DDS, PhD


Arthur K. Adamo, DDS
Thomas R. Flynn, DMD
Catherine Hayes, DMSc, DMD
Richard A. Kraut, DDS
Michael H. Levi, ScD
Rabie M. Shanti
Norman Trieger, DMD, MD


R. Bryan Bell, DDS, MD
Eric J. Dierks, DMD, MD
William B. Long, MD
Timothy Osborn, DDS
Bryce E. Potter, DMD, MD


Vivek Shetty, DDS, DMD
Kathryn Atchison, DDS, MPH
Richard D. Leathers, DDS
Edward E. Black, DDS
Cory Zigler
Thomas H. Belin, PhD


Felice S. O’Ryan, DDS
Sam F. Khoury, DMD
Wendy P. Liao, DDS
Myo M. Han, MD
Rita L.Hui, PharmD, MS
Daniel C. Martin, DDS
David Baer, MD
Donald Liberty, DDS
Joan C. Lo, MD


Vincent J. Perciaccante, DDS
John W. Carey, DMD
Srinivas M. Susarla, DMD, MPH
Thomas B. Dodson, DMD, MPH


Matthew Cozin, BA
Bradley M. Pinker, BS
Kimberley Solemani, BS
Jeremy M. Zuniga, BS
Stephen C. Dadaian, BS
Serge Cremers, PhD
Regina Landesberg, DMD, PhD
Srikala Raghavan, PhD


Alan S. Herford, DDS, MD
Mei Lu, DDS, MS, PhD
Amanda N. Buxton, PhD
JoAnne Kim, DDS
Jennifer Henkin, DDS
Philip J. Boyne, DDS, MS
Joseph M. Caruso, DDS, MS, MPH
Kitichai Rungcharassaeng, DDS, MS
Jie Hong, MD


Dr. Scott Boyd
Dr. Arthur Walters
Ms. Yanna Song
Dr. Lily Wang

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation

9700 W. Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone: 847-233-4304 or 866-278-9221



Copyright 2015 Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Foundation